Communication Arts

KWSB 91.1 FM – Get Involved

On the air since 1968.

Broadcasting live from Taylor Hall, KWSB is Western’s on-campus, student-managed radio station. For over 50 years, KWSB has brought radio shows, music and public service announcements to the Gunnison community, in addition to providing students with hands-on practice and resume-building skills in the communications, radio and broadcasting industries.

LISTEN LIVE TO KWSB 91.1 FM! Tune in

Tune in and tune your skillset

KWSB 91.1 FM provides experiential learning for Western students in a state-of-the-art production facility. Come visit us in Taylor 124A.

KWSB Resources

Learn more about our scheduled programs, staff, submitting PSAs and connecting with KWSB.

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
9 a.m. – Ron’s Real Rock Radio 8 a.m. – Cavasos Show 10 a.m. – Kaleidoscope 11 a.m. – Sunday Morning Coming Down
2 p.m. – Turtle Island 2 p.m. – Pop Punk Power Hour
6 p.m. – Western’s Workin’ Man Country 4 p.m. – Midweek Mix 6 p.m. – Radio Shipwreck 4 p.m. Mystery Soup 4 p.m. – Mystery Soup
7 p.m. – Max’s Mountain Mix 7 p.m. – Peanut Butter and Jams 5 p.m. – Tea Time
9 p.m. – Mondady’s Mixed Bag in the M00nlight 9 p.m. – The Jam In 9 p.m. – Jazz Vinyl Hour 7 p.m. – The Ski Bum

Follow the link below to submit a Public Service Announcement to be aired on KWSB

Submit PSA

Our staff is here to help answer any questions you have about KWSB.

Rachael Stubbs – Station Manager rachael.stubbs@western.edu
Contact for general inquires and job applications

Veronica Graham – Program Director veronica.graham@western.edu
Contact for DJ training and programming

Brandon Lopez – Production Director brandon.lopez@western.edu
Contact for public service announcements

Drew Gramer – Music Director drew.gramer@western.edu
Contact for music submissions

Jacob Vogel – Digital Director jacob.vogel@western.edu
Contact for automation/ghost DJ

Terry Schliesman – Faculty Advisor tschliesman@western.edu

Connect with Us on Social Media

Follow our Instagram or like our Facebook page to get the most up to date information about programming:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KWSB91.1
Instagram: @kwsb91.1

Discover your broadcasting talent.

How to become a DJ:​

  1. Contact the KWSB Trainer
  2. Take a tour of the station and receive the official KWSB Training Handbook
  3. Sit in on a manager’s show
  4. Take the DJ test
  5. Record a “sim show”
  6. Live broadcast with a manager sitting in
  7. Become a DJ on the KWSB team

If you want to join the management side of KWSB, contact the KWSB Station Manager.

As a member of the KWSB team, you can: 

  • Play music live on-air
  • Deliver announcements to the community
  • Produce stingers, PSAs, underwriting spots and shows
  • Write and deliver news
  • Review new music
  • Promote the station on campus and in the community
  • Broadcast Western athletic events (football and basketball)